View Mobile Site
  • Home
  • Marketplace
  • Community
  • Gas Prices


Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Volunteers feted

SCV Man and Woman of the Year nominees announced

Posted: March 6, 2013 6:04 p.m.
Updated: March 6, 2013 6:04 p.m.

Nominees for Santa Clarita Valley Man and Woman of the Year were announced Tuesday.

Seventeen Santa Clarita Valley volunteers have been nominated as candidates for 2013 SCV Man and Woman of the Year.

Nominees were feted at a “Paparazzi Party” with a Hawaiian theme on Tuesday evening in Canyon Country.

Those nominated for Man of the Year, along with their nominating organizations, are: Robert Benjamin, Henry Mayo Newhall Memorial Health Foundation; Al Ferdman, Samuel Dixon Family Health Centers, Inc.; Skip Henke, Santa Clarita Elks Lodge; Carl Kanowsky, Santa Clarita Valley Boys & Girls Club; Taylor Kellstrom, Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles; Rick Patterson, SCV Facilities Foundation; Cary Quashen, Action Parent & Teen Support Program; and Steve Sturgeon, Child & Family Center Foundation, Rotary Club of SCV.

Nominated for Woman of the Year are: Sue Endress, Rotary Club of Santa Clarita Valley; Cheryl Gray, Santa Clarita Valley Boys & Girls Club; Karen Henke, Santa Clarita Elks Lodge; Debbie Heys, Child & Family Center Foundation; Elizabeth Hopp, Michael Hoefflin Foundation for Children’s Cancer; Kris Hough, Santa Clarita Facilities Foundation; Gail Pinsker, WiSH Foundation; Susan Reynolds, Domestic Violence Center of the SCV, Soroptimist Int’l of Greater SCV; and Elizabeth Seipel, Circle of Hope.

The candidates were nominated by SCV service clubs, nonprofit organizations, and foundations.

They are being honored for their contributions to the community through voluntary service.

Some nominees have been doing charity work for more than three decades.

The SCV Man and Woman of the Year award goes back more than 40 years.

Past honorees have included Bill Bonelli, Jr. (1966), Reverend Samuel Dixon (1973), Connie Worden-Roberts (1975), Jo Anne Darcy (1984), George Pederson (1997) and Don and Cheri Fleming (2004).

The judging of this year’s honorees will be done by past SCV Men and Women of the Year.

Co-chairs of this year’s event are Tom Dierckman and Myrna Condie, the 2012 SCV Man and Woman of the Year.

The candidates will be judged on volunteerism (time worked with a nonprofit organization), length of service, and the number of organizations supported.

The 2013 Man and Woman of the Year will be named at the 47th Annual Recognition Dinner to be held May 3, at the Hyatt Regency Valencia. It will include dinner, a multi-media presentation, and the recognition ceremony.

For more information, or tickets to the event, contact Myrna Condie or Laura Chavez at (661) 257-2900.



Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...