View Mobile Site
  • Home
  • Marketplace
  • Community
  • Gas Prices


Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Nominations sought for honor

SCV Man and Woman of the Year seek nominations

Posted: January 24, 2013 2:00 a.m.
Updated: January 24, 2013 2:00 a.m.

Tom Dierckman, left and Myrna Condie, right, winners of the 2012 SCV Man and Woman of the Year award, flank Jim Ventress, chief professional officer of the Boys & Girls Club of Santa Clarita Valley, the nominating organization of the duo.

The Santa Clarita Valley Man and Woman of the Year Committee is seeking nominations for the annual award.

One of the oldest continuing events in the SCV the 47th annual volunteer recognition banquet will be held May 3 at the Hyatt Regency Valencia.

All nominees and their nominating organizations will be honored at the banquet followed by the announcement of this year’s two winners.

This year’s event chairman and woman are Tom Dierckman and Myrna Condie, 2012 SCV Man and Woman of the Year.

Those nominated for the honor should be community leaders and outstanding volunteers to be considered for 2013 Man/Woman titles.

Invitation letters have gone out to non-profits across the SCV and completed nomination forms must be returned by Feb. 13.  Nominations must contain a list of the nominee’s community organizations, years of service and positions held.

The committee also will consider how the individual’s volunteerism has impacted the nominating organization, the community, and any other contributions to the community (special personal effort, in-kind or intangible contributions).

Nominees should demonstrate a pattern of volunterism with numerous nonprofits.

Each nomination also should include a brief biography of the nominee in 500 words or less, and a high-resolution jpg image or print photograph of the nominee.

In addition to Dierckman and Condie a few of the previous winners of the honor have included Harry Bell, Candy Spahr, Wayne Crawford, Mary Ann Colf, Greg Amsler, Nancy Coulter, Carl Goldman, Judy Penman, Greg Nutter, Jeanna Crawford, Michael Berger and Diana Cusumano.

The SCV Man and Woman of the Year Committee is comprised of previous winners of the honor.

Each winner of the honor will be presented with a check to donate to the nonprofit of their choice.

Nominations can be e-mailed to or mailed to SCV Man and Woman of the Year, P.O. Box 801060, Santa Clarita, CA 91380.

Tickets to the banquet, at $90 each and can be ordered through the organization’s website at


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...