View Mobile Site
  • Home
  • Marketplace
  • Community
  • Gas Prices


Ask the Expert

Signal Photos

Santa Clarita's 25th: First City Council steered Santa Clarita’s early days

Posted: December 15, 2012 4:00 a.m.
Updated: December 15, 2012 4:00 a.m.

From left, Buck McKeon, Jan Heidt, Dennis Koontz, Jo Anne Darcy and Carl Boyer pose for a photo.


These five residents made up the first City Council that shaped the city into what it is today.

Carl Boyer

Carl Boyer served on the first Santa Clarita City Council and for 10 years following. He served as mayor for two terms and as chair of the City of Santa Clarita Formation Committee in 1987.

Boyer also served as chairman of the SCV Chamber of Commerce.

As one of the first city council members, Boyer helped decide the plan for the city and played a role in its incorporation in 1987.

A history, government and economics teacher for San Fernando High School, Boyer has published many books and promoted literacy in schools in Nicaragua.

Jo Anne Darcy

Jo Anne Darcy served on the first Santa Clarita City Council and continued to serve longer than any other founding member.

Darcy served two terms as mayor and played a major role in planning in the incorporated areas.

Outside of public office, Darcy worked as field deputy for Supervisor Michael Antonovich.

Darcy was the Chamber of Commerce executive manager, establishing communication between the city and county during her tenure.

Before her years on the city council, Darcy was named Santa Clarita Woman of the Year in 1984.

Janice Heidt

Janice “Jan” Heidt served on the first Santa Clarita City Council, including three terms as mayor, succeeding Howard “Buck” McKeon as the city’s second mayor.

A community activist, Heidt took on environmental causes — cleaning up toxic waste and fighting a proposed landfill — championed small business development as the owner of a book store in Newhall.

As a former communications officer for the Navy, Heidt supported and organized local military events.

She founded the Santa Clarita Valley Homeowners Coalition and was a resident of Canyon Country during her time in office.

Dennis Koontz

Dennis Koontz served on the first Santa Clarita City Council, having previously served as an LA City Fire Captain. He also worked as a health assistant at Valencia High School and became a Realtor. Now, he is actively involved in the Senior Center, Zonta Club and Boys & Girls Club.

Koontz is a Tesoro resident and he and his wife are strong advocates for the area joining the city of Santa Clarita.

Buck McKeon

Before he began his first term in 1993, Congressman Howard “Buck” McKeon, R-Santa Clarita, started his career with a family business in Santa Clarita.

McKeon served as Santa Clarita’s first mayor and as a member of the Santa Clarita City Council. During his tenure as a city council member, McKeon expanded the sheriff’s and parks programs, helping the city achieve its reputation as one of the safest cities in the nation.

McKeon served on the William S. Hart Union High School District and the Henry Mayo Newhall Memorial Hospital board of trustees.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...