View Mobile Site

Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


And the winner is ...

Centurions take three out of the four top All-Foothill League awards

Posted: December 8, 2008 9:02 p.m.
Updated: December 9, 2008 4:55 a.m.

Saugus quarterback Desi Rodriguez named Foothill League Player of the Year. Saugus running back Ryan Zirbel named Offensive Player of the Year. Centurion Robert Donathan named Lineman of the Year and Valencia's Drew LaVoise named Defensive Player of the Year for the 2008 football season.

Saugus High quarterback Desi Rodriguez finished off his stellar career in grand fashion as he was given the top honor for Foothill League players.

The All-Foothill League team was released Monday.

Rodriguez was selected as the league's Player of the Year.

"I was pretty excited," he said. "My family and I were jumping up and down. It's the cherry on top."

Rodriguez finished his final season with the Centurions completing 111-of-186 passes for 1,655 yards and 16 touchdowns. The 6-feet-tall signal caller was more adept, though, as a running threat. He rushed for 1,783 yards on 243 carries.

He also scored 20 touchdowns.

"I know I worked hard for it," he said. "It's nice. It's rewarding."

After a successful season with Saugus, having clinched a first-ever Foothill League title and reaching the semifinals of the CIF-Southern Section Northern Division playoffs, Rodriguez said he is ready to take the next step.

"I've done what I had to do in high school," he said. "I'm ready for the next level."

Rodriguez said he has received offers to play in college, including the Air Force Academy and Portland State, but will wait to make a final decision. Last season, Rodriguez was an all-league first teamer.

He figures to be a strong candidate for an All-CIF selection as well.

The second tier of awards went to two of Rodriguez's teammates.

Running back Ryan Zirbel was named Offensive Player of the Year and senior Robert Donathan was named Lineman of the Year.

Valencia's Drew LaVoise wrapped up the league's Defensive Player of the Year.

"It's an honor," LaVoise said. "My defensive coach (Robert Waters) helped me out a lot this season."

Zirbel rushed for 1,722 yards on 221 carries, averaging 7.8 yards per rush. He scored a total of 25 touchdowns.

The 5-foot-10-inch tailback, who also received the same honor last year, added 23 receptions for 288 yards.

"I'm proud of the guys I played with this year," Zirbel said. "It was a great season and we just wanted to prove that last year wasn't a fluke. I wanted to go out with a bang."

After receiving off-season shoulder surgery, LaVoise led the Vikings team in tackles with 112. The 5-foot-10 linebacker is still weighing his options for college. He has no offers as of yet.

The Foothill League coaches selected the awards, which include first and second team selections and honorable mentions.


2008 All-Foothill League Football Teams
Player of the Year
Desi Rodriguez QB Sr. Saugus

Offensive Player of the Year
Ryan Zirbel RB Sr. Saugus

Lineman of the Year
Robert Donathan DL Sr. Saugus

Defensive Player of the Year
Drew LaVoise LB Sr. Valencia

First Team Offense

Jordan Adamczyk QB Sr. Canyon
Kevin Voogt WR Sr. Canyon
Spenser Souza QB Sr. Hart
Blake Borland WR Jr. Hart
Chris Anderson OL Sr. Hart
Justin Wells OL Sr. Saugus
Justin Peacock OL Sr. Saugus
Manny Padron WR Jr. Saugus
Kollin Depew WR Sr. Saugus
Dominick Solley QB Sr. Valencia
Jordan Thompson RB Sr. Valencia
Cody Letz OL Sr. Valencia
Robert Waterman OL Sr. West Ranch
Greg Drake K Sr. Valencia

Second Team Offense

Shane Moniz OL Jr. Canyon
Geffen Camp RB Sr. Canyon
Mike Marshall OL Sr. Golden Valley
Rick Aversano OL Sr. Hart
Demitri Diamond RB Sr. Hart
Tony Divis OL Jr. Saugus
Brian Faussett OL Jr. Saugus
Nolan O'Sullivan OL Jr. Valencia
Nick Oliva OL Jr. Valencia
Frankie Madero WR Sr. West Ranch
Jake Bernards QB Sr. West Ranch
C.J. Reyes K Sr. Hart

First Team Defense

Japheth Gordon DL Sr. Canyon
Chris Rivas DB Sr. Canyon
Ted Glasnow DL Sr. Hart
Ty MacArthur DB Jr. Hart
Melqui Lemus DL Jr. Saugus
Mario Lara LB Sr. Saugus
Joe Rojales DB Sr. Saugus
Nick Patterson LB Sr. Saugus
Zach Tartabull DB Jr. Valencia
Kevin Rush DL Jr. Valencia
Brock Vereen DB Jr. Valencia
Geoffrey Ernst LB Sr. West Ranch
Joseph Figueroa P Jr. Golden Valley

Second Team Defense

Nate Marroquin LB Sr. Canyon
Gavin Schelske DL Jr. Canyon
John Schlegel DB Sr. Golden Valley
Michael Aguilar LB Sr. Hart
Jon Boscarino DL Sr. Hart
Adrian Cruz LB So. Saugus
Jonathan Aguirre DB Jr. Saugus
Christopher Hoose DL Sr. Valencia
Rocky Maldonado LB Jr. Valencia
Kevin Carringon DL Jr. Valencia
Branden Pistone DB Jr. West Ranch
Troy Wise DL Sr. West Ranch
Kevin Rush P Sr. Valencia

Honorable Mention

Casey McDonagh Canyon
Nick Barragan Golden Valley
Jake Stephens Hart
Tyler Steen Saugus
Adam Gutierrez Valencia
Patrick Sweigart West Ranch


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...