View Mobile Site
  • Home
  • Marketplace
  • Community
  • Gas Prices


Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Mayor Named Top Newsmaker

Posted: March 1, 2008 1:05 a.m.
Updated: May 2, 2008 5:02 a.m.

Santa Clarita Mayor Bob Kellar was named Newsmaker of the Year.

Santa Clarita Mayor Bob Kellar was named Newsmaker of the Year, City Councilman TimBen Boydston was named most controversial, and the nonprofit Santa Clarita Valley Disaster Coalition was named Organization of the Year during the 12th annual SCV Press Club Newsmaker Awards Friday night at the Hyatt Valencia.

Boydston, who is also Canyon Theatre Guild's executive and artistic director, said he was somewhat puzzled by the award.

"When I was appointed to the City Council, I did not think it was controversial to ask questions in a public forum," he said of the controversy that has punctuated his stormy term.

Jeanna Crawford, also 2007's "Woman of the Year," was the top Community Service Newsmaker. Attorney Michele Mann of Mehta & Mann earned the Behind the Scenes Newsmaker award for her work with organizations such as the Santa Clarita Symphony, the SCV Senior Center and SmartGrowth SCV. Dan Masnada, Castaic Lake Water Agency general manager, was recognized with the Most Cooperative with the Local Press award.

On the sports side, Valencia High Softball, the No. 1 high school team in the nation, earned Sports Team of the Year. Hart High graduate and Tampa Bay Devil Rays starting pitcher James Shields was named top Sports Individual, Male. Valencia High grad and University of Michigan starting pitcher Jordan Taylor scored the Sports Individual, Female award.

The event's keynote speaker was noted broadcast journalist, television personality and SCV resident Bella Shaw, a former CNN "Newsday" anchor, and host of CNN's "Travelguide" and "Showbiz Today."

The annual Newsmaker Awards are hosted by the nonprofit SCV Press Club. Sponsored by The Signal and featuring live and silent auctions plus a banquet and awards ceremony, the event is the yearly fundraiser for the Randy Wicks Memorial First Amendment Scholarship fund.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...