View Mobile Site

Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Foothill League school awards: Highlight years

Local schools honor athletes, scholars of year

Posted: May 30, 2010 11:09 p.m.
Updated: May 31, 2010 4:55 a.m.

As the spring sports come to an end, high schools in the Santa Clarita Valley have named Athletes of the Year for the 2009-2010 seasons.

Valencia has a pair of decorated selections, with male Athlete of the Year Alex Bishop and female AOY Madison Shipman.

Bishop led the Vikings football team to an undefeated Foothill League season and threw for 3,416 yards and a school-record 36 touchdowns. The junior’s 78.4 percent completion percentage during the regular season set a state record, and he earned league Player of the Year and All-CIF Southern Section Northern Division honors. Bishop was also an Honorable Mention on the All-Foothill League team in baseball, batting .291 with 16 RBIs at both catcher and outfielder.

Shipman led Valencia’s softball team to an undefeated Foothill League season and a top seed in the CIF-Southern Section Division I playoffs, in which Valencia will take on Santa Margarita in Tuesday’s semifinals.

The Tennessee-bound shortstop is rated as the No. 2 recruit in the country by Shipman has batted .444 for the Vikings, with a league-high nine home runs and 36 RBIs.

Golden Valley’s selections were cross country and track standout Seth Totten and swimmer Michelle Duraj.

Totten, who is headed to UC Riverside in the fall, is arguably the most decorated athlete in school history. The two-time All-State selection and 2009 Foothill League individual cross country champion was also the 2010 league champion in the 3,200-meter run and the school record-holder in both the 1,600 and 3,200.

The University of Denver-bound Duraj won the 50-yard freestyle and 100-yard breaststroke in the Foothill League finals and broke a league record in the 50 freestyle that had stood since 1992.

Canyon’s honorees both played soccer, with male AOY Andrew Wilson and female AOY Keeli Howard.

Wilson played goalkeeper and had 15 total shutouts in his senior season, including eight during league play. The team became the second boys soccer squad in Santa Clarita Valley history to advance to the CIF-SS semifinals, joining the 2007 Saugus team.

Howard, a senior forward on the girls soccer team, was known more for her accomplishments on the track team, where she won the Foothill League title in the 100-meter dash.

West Ranch named Athletes of the Year and Scholar Athletes of the Year, while Hart named Scholar Athlete selections.

West Ranch’s female AOY went to senior basketball standout Erin Ruiz, who averaged 14.8 points per game for the Foothill League’s second-place finisher.

West Ranch’s male AOY is junior golfer J.J. Holen, who led the Wildcats to their third consecutive Foothill League title and will be participating in the CIF/SCGA Tournament, the Southern California championship, on Thursday in Murrieta.

The Wildcats’ scholar athlete selections went to senior golfer Diane Kim and senior baseball player Chris Caldwell.
Hart’s Scholar Athletes of the Year were girls soccer senior Megan Indermill, who anchored the defense at the sweeper position and also had six goals and four assists to go along with a GPA over 4.0. Senior baseball pitcher Theo Stafford, whose GPA was also over 4.0, posted a 3.11 ERA out of the bullpen for the Indians.

Saugus named both Athletes and Scholar athletes of the year.

Football and soccer standout Manny Padron was named the male AOY and track and field’s Amber Wright took the top female prize.

Wright helped lead the Centurions to a CIF-SS Div. II title in track and field, the first girls team title in SCV history. Padron was an All-Foothill League first teamer in soccer and football.

Tennis player Yumi Suh and baseball’s Matt Emerson were selected as Saugus’ top scholar athletes.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...