View Mobile Site
  • Home
  • Marketplace
  • Community
  • Gas Prices


Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Saugus Dance Team captures 16 awards

Award-winning team captures five first-place trophies in opener

Posted: January 23, 2010 7:47 p.m.
Updated: January 24, 2010 4:55 a.m.

Saugus Dance Team with awards from Miss Dance Drill Team Competition. Back row, left to right: Victoria Friedman, Jessica Breneman, Kellie Janeski, Megan Stokes, Ian Waschak, Katie Lin, Erika Fisher, Haley Slaten. Front row: Bridget Groller, Karissa Petersen, Tamara Sosa, Gianna Mascari, Taylor Friedman, Jenny Gross, Darla MacDonald, Meagan Foer...

The Saugus High School Dance Team opened the season with commanding performances at the 2010 Miss Dance Drill Team California.

The team competed over the weekend of Jan. 15-16.

The team received five first- place trophies, including one for the Officers' dance, which was performed by Karissa Petersen (Captain), Kellie Janeski and Darla MacDonald (co-Captains) and two second-place awards. Out of the five first-place awards, two were high-point winners in the categories of Large and Mini dances.

The solos and duet performances were as strong with a total of nine trophies, which include five first places, three second places and one fifth place.

First-place trophies were awarded in the Lyrical/Modern category to senior Karissa Petersen, junior Courtney Robbins, and sophomore Megan Stokes. Petersen and Stokes both received high point awards. Also receiving a first-place trophy was freshman, Taylor Friedman in the jazz category.

Darla MacDonald, Jessica Breneman, and Roxy Haserjian placed second in the lyrical/modern category for the 12th, 11th, and 9th grade divisions, respectively.

Haserjian was also recognized as a high point winner in the 9th grade division. Senior, Gianna Mascari received a fifth place award in the lyrical/modern category. Lastly, the duet performance by Petersen and MacDonald earned both a first place and high point award.

Saugus Dance Team members include Jessica Breneman, Nicole Callas, Erika Fisher, Meagan Foertsch, Victoria Friedman, Taylor Friedman, Jenny Gross, Roxy Haserjian, Kellie Janeski, Katie Lin, Darla MacDonald, Gianna Mascari, Ali Naranjo, Karissa Petersen, Courtney Robbins, Haley Slaten, Tamara Sosa, Megan Stokes, Shea Tinsley, and Ian Waschak.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...