View Mobile Site

Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Council candidates file papers

Eleven contenders, including incumbents, to vie for three seats

Posted: January 15, 2010 10:14 p.m.
Updated: January 16, 2010 4:55 a.m.
In the city's April election, Santa Clarita voters will choose from among 11 candidates to fill three City Council seats.

Friday was the deadline for candidates to file qualifying papers, which required at least 20 signatures from registered voters living in Santa Clarita. The city was still verifying signatures for two of the candidates at 6 p.m. Friday.

All three incumbents - Frank Ferry, Laurene Weste and Marsha McLean - will seek to hang onto their seats. Also in the running is former city Councilman TimBen Boydston.

Other contenders are: David Galvan, David Gauny, Daniel Henriquez, Harrison Katz, Kenneth Mann, Johnny Pride and Henry Schultz.

Mark Kirkpatrick had pulled papers to run for office but later withdrew them. City officials were verifying signatures for Gauny and Katz.

The Secretary of State will draw letters to determine the order of the ballot on Jan. 21. The election will be held April 13.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...