View Mobile Site

Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Santa Clarita extended deadline yields more applications for city commissions

Posted: August 19, 2014 5:54 p.m.
Updated: August 19, 2014 5:54 p.m.

An extended deadline for citizens to apply for seats on several city commissions has yielded the desired results: More applications.

After initially receiving tepid interest, Santa Clarita City Council members voted in July to extend the application deadline for those interested in a seat on the city’s Arts Commission; Parks, Recreation and Community Services Commission; Planning Commission; and Open Space Preservation District Financial Accountability and Audit Panel.

As of the end of the extended application period, last Friday, the city had received more than 30 applications for the open commission and panel seats. Three seats are available for each five-member body.

The applicants will be considered at the upcoming City Council meeting on Tuesday.

Seats on the city’s Planning Commission received the most interest. The applicants are Robert Aholt, Timothy Burkhart, Sarah Darabi, Kenneth Dean, Arthur N. Edwards, Lisa Eichman, Suresh Jayanthi, Samuel A. John, Bakhsish “Bob” Khalsa, Anthony C. Matthess, George McGuinness, Dennis Ostrom, Kevin Riddle and Laura Stotler.

Nine candidates applied for a seat on the city’s Parks, Recreation and Community Services Commission. They are: Aholt, Dean, Jeff Bomberger, Dianna Boone, Arif Halaby, Daniel R. Jordan, Kevin D. Korenthal, Ruthann Levison and Jeff Prata.

Applicants for the city’s Arts Commission are Janis Doukakis, Christianne Hanych, Edward F. Hill, Andrew Hull, Dr. Michael Millar, Patti Rasmussen and Susan Shapiro.

The application for another potential Arts Commission candidate, Stephen Daniels, was incomplete and disqualified. Three references were required, but Daniels submitted only two.

Seven candidates applied for a spot on the Financial Accountability and Audit Panel: Aholt, Hill, Sandra Cattell, Wendelin “Wendy” Langhans, Susan Orloff, Henry Schultz and Brian Springer.
On Twitter @LukeMMoney




Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...