View Mobile Site

Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Program will honor teachers

n More than 50 educators will be lauded at Performing Arts Center

Posted: April 12, 2009 1:09 a.m.
Updated: April 12, 2009 4:55 a.m.

The Santa Clarita Valley Education Foundation will host the 25th Anniversary Teacher Tribute on April 30 at College of the Canyons to honor 54 teachers from six of the Santa Clarita Valley’s school districts.

The event will be held at the college’s Performing Arts Center, 26455 Rockwell Canyon Road. Refreshments begin at 5 p.m. and will be followed by the program at 6:30 p.m. This year’s special speaker is Mauricio Becerra.

Becerra, a first-generation American who faced hardships growing up in Long Beach, found acceptance at school by writing stories with his classmates about their lives. The stories were published in “The Freedom Writers Diary.” The book inspired the movie, “Freedom Writers.” Becerra works for the Freedom Writers Foundation, speaking to audiences across the country and working in the classroom with students in Southern California.

The SCV Education Foundation began as an education committee for the Santa Clarita Valley Chamber of Commerce in 1984 to develop partnerships between local businesses and public schools. The foundation has since evolved to focus on education and to increase support for programs through its foundation. In 1995, the SCV Education Foundation qualified as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable foundation.

Those interested in attending the event can visit or call Ann Unger, executive director, at (661) 414-4465.

Teachers to be honored April 30:

Castaic Union School District
Lynda Ashley                     Castaic Elementary
Jeannette Edwards             Castaic Middle
Ernestina Aguilar    Live Oak Elementary Carla Huffman Northlake Hills Elementary

Newhall School District
Carrie Franz                  McGrath Elementary
Michelle Vasquez      Meadows Elementary
Dana Sue Hochman  Newhall Elementary
Janice Brown          Oak Hills Elementary
Jennifer Herrback   Old Orchard Elementary
Jenni Dent                     Peachland Elementary
Martha Stafford                   Pico Canyon Elementary
Sean Barker         Stevenson Ranch Elementary
Amy Santos           Valencia Valley Elementary
Jennifer Lopez              Wiley Canyon Elementary

Saugus Union School District

Glen Kubasak Bouquet Canyon Elementary
Amanda Putman          Bridgeport Elementary
Erin Wiseman      Cedarcreek Elementary
Lori Brink         Emblem Elementary
Donna Spencer                James Foster Elementary
Dobbin Farrell   Charles Helmers Elementary
Marsha Gilpin               Highlands Elementary
Christina Bakoo              Mountainview Elementary
Joanna Trafecanty  North Park Elementary
Joann Sherman       Plum Canyon Elementary
Patricia Berman                            Rio Vista Elementary
Becky Mastrobuono    Rosedell Elementary
Richard Marsh                    Santa Clarita Elementary
Carolyn Turk                            Skyblue Mesa Elementary
Ana Henry             Tesoro del Valle Elementary
Sulphur Springs School District
Maureen Teague                   Canyon Springs Elementary
Wendy Poore    Fair Oaks Ranch Elementary
Rikki Fayne                      Golden Oak Community
Hayley Perez                      Leona Cox Elementary
Wendy Maxwell                  Mint Canyon Elementary
Sheri Hanks                     Mitchell Elementary
Marie LaCross                     Pinetree Elementary
Jamie Shillig    Sulphur Springs Elementary
Maureen Server                Valley View Elementary

William S. Hart Union High School District
Greg Herrick                     Academy of the Canyons
Joanna Johnson                Arroyo Seco Junior
Jamie Herrington                    Bowman High
Elizabeth Craig                Canyon High
Carolyn Hoffman         Golden Valley High
Rob Frechette                                Hart High
Jeff Stephan                             La Mesa Junior High
Christine Parr                                 Placerita Junior High
Lee Gately                   Rancho Pico Junior High
Jeanette Kratofil             Rio Norte Junior High
Frank Koroshec                                    Saugus High
Fidel Garcia                                    Sequoia Charter
Lorraine Fulleman     Sierra Vista Junior High
John Minkus                                              Valencia High
Fayanne Gabel                                           West Ranch High
Jason Wilhelm                                        Early College High


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...