View Mobile Site

Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Lewis Stallworth named Foothill Player of the Year

Posted: March 10, 2014 10:59 p.m.
Updated: March 10, 2014 10:59 p.m.

Hart High senior guard Lewis Stallworth was voted Foothill League Player of the Year by the league's coaches.

Hart boys basketball wasn’t just the best team in the Foothill League this year. It was dominant.

And the same can be said for Hart senior guard Lewis Stallworth all season long.

And for that, he gets to cap his impressive three-year varsity career as the 2014 Foothill League Player of the Year.

“I’ve grown as a player, as a person, as a teammate,” Stallworth said. “I did what everyone expected me to do, helped my team win in different areas, not just one.”

Stallworth was named to the All-Foothill first team each of the past two seasons, but he peaked this season and led a senior-laden Hart team to its first league championship since 2007.

The senior scored an average of 20 points per game and added four rebounds, four assists and two steals per contest.

Hart was a perfect 10-0 against Foothill opponents.

“We didn’t win CIF. That would have been ideal,” Stallworth said. “I’m still happy with the way everything ended. We still went 10-0, we still won league. I can’t complain at all.”

The All-Foothill first team included Stallworth’s junior teammate Myles Franklin, a fellow Hart guard who is making his second straight appearance in the first team.

He was a second-teamer as a freshman.

Franklin was one of seven first-team selections this season.

For the West Ranch Wildcats, who finished second in league, senior guard Christian Ware-Berry was the team’s lone first teamer.

The Foothill third-place Valencia Vikings were represented by senior guard Jaleel Howard.

Canyon placed three players on the first team despite finishing fourth in league. Junior guard Ben Taufahema, senior guard Marc Cabrera and senior forward Dean Hendrix-Davis all landed spots on the first team following Canyon’s run to the CIF-Southern Section Division IIAA semifinals.

That was the furthest any Foothill team advanced this season.

This marks Taufahema’s second straight first-team nod, while Cabrera and Hendrix-Davis were on the second team a year ago.

The first team was rounded out by Saugus senior Jacob Tobon.

The All-Foothill second team included Hart’s Davis Koppenhaver, West Ranch’s Ryan Beddeo and Izayah Doyle and Valencia’s Dakota Abbott and Malik McCowan.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...