View Mobile Site

Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Wilson wins player of year

Canyon goalkeeper leads list of ’09 all-Foothill League selections

Posted: March 18, 2009 1:28 a.m.
Updated: March 18, 2009 4:55 a.m.

Canyon goalkeeper Andrew Wilson minds the net this past season. Wilson was named Foothill League Player of the Year by the coaches.

Foothill League teams had a tough time scoring on Canyon goalkeeper Andrew Wilson this winter.

The league’s coaches, on the other hand, had an easy time recognizing his accomplishments.

Wilson was named Foothill League Player of the Year for boys soccer after the junior co-captain guided the Cowboys to a league championship and the second round of the CIF-Southern Section Division III playoffs.

Canyon defender and co-captain Shaun McLaughlin was also named to the first team, along with midfielder Alex McCaslin, both of whom provided steady play and senior leadership at each level of the field for the Cowboys.

Second-place Saugus had two selections on the first team, sophomore Erick Esquivel and junior Manny Padron. Esquivel gave the Centurions a combination of speed and skill up top while Padron orchestrated the offense from the midfield.

West Ranch had three players named to the first team, the most of any school. Senior midfielder Steven Delgado, senior goalkeeper Billy Morales and sophomore striker Jacob Jordan led the Wildcats to third place in the Foothill League and an automatic berth in the CIF-Southern Section Division III playoffs.

Golden Valley’s senior tandem of Tim Stanley and Bino Horne anchored the Grizzlies’ defense this season and earned spots on the first team for their efforts. The Grizzlies reached the CIF-Southern Section Division III playoffs but fell in a wild-card game.

Hart midfielders Ian Loveland and Armand Simian were first-team representatives for the Indians, who never quite found a rhythm and finished last in the Foothill League.

Valencia defender Greg Drake was the lone Vikings selected to the first team, but the four-year starter at sweeper made life difficult for opposing offenses this season.

West Ranch had four players selected to the second team, including senior central defender Colin Amsler, senior defender Cameron Nelson, junior striker/midfielder Sergio Torres and junior defender Evan Stevens. Senior defender Jon Loudermilk drew an honorable mention for the Wildcats.

Canyon had three second-team selections in senior striker Jared Jens, senior midfielder Darwin Ortiz and junior defender Vincent Donato. The Cowboys also had an honorable mention in senior midfielder Brandon Rios.

Saugus also had three second-teamers, including senior captain Manuel Garza, junior midfielder Amir Ranjbar and junior defender Chris Allen, and senior goalkeeper Pierre Diaz earned an honorable mention. The group helped lead the Centurions to the second round of the CIF-Southern Section Division III postseason.

Valencia landed versatile senior Eric Shannon and senior defender Wesley Engel on the second team, while fellow senior defender Blake Sunderman drew an honorable mention as part of Valencia’s formidable back line.

Golden Valley didn’t have anyone on the second team, but senior defender James Schlegel earned an honorable mention.

Like the Grizzlies, Hart had no one on the second team, but senior midfielder/striker Max Robin received an honorable mention.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...