View Mobile Site

Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Monday deadline to register to vote in November elections

Posted: October 18, 2013 1:50 p.m.
Updated: October 18, 2013 1:50 p.m.

Monday is the final day to register to vote in time to be able to cast a ballot in the upcoming Nov. 5 elections, according to the county agency charged with overseeing the elections.

There are three primary ways to register to vote, according to the Los Angeles County Office of Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk. County residents can register to vote online at, register in person at the Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk’s office, 12400 Imperial Highway in Norwalk, or apply in person at county public libraries, Department of Motor Vehicle locations, U.S. post offices and most other government buildings.

County residents who have registered to vote recently can check their status online through the Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk’s office.

Once registered, residents can also apply to vote by mail until Oct. 29.

The November elections in the Santa Clarita Valley are for the boards overseeing three local school districts — the Newhall School District, Saugus Union School District and Sulphur Springs School District — as well as the Newhall County Water District.

Elections for the William S. Hart Union High School District and College of the Canyons Board of Trustees were canceled earlier this year because no one filed to challenge the incumbents, who were seeking re-election.

After November, Santa Clarita Valley residents will have a brief electoral reprieve before the 2014 City Council campaign begins in earnest.

Although it’s too early for candidates to file for City Council, the election field already is expected to include Dante Acosta, Alan Ferdman, Maria Gutzeit, Berta Gonzalez-Harper, Duane Harte and Gloria Mercado-Fortine, as well incumbents Marsha McLean and Laurene Weste.

All eight have said they will run in the April 2014 election. Three seats are up for grabs. Longtime Councilman Frank Ferry has announced he will not seek re-election in April.




Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...